Peace in the Classroom

State Agencies And Other Organizations That Appeal To Me

on January 21, 2017

 


 I absolutely love my job and do not have any plans on switching gears when it comes to my career anytime soon. However, as a second, part time job I find the following state agencies, as well as local organizations appealing. I don’t mind having a second job (most likely less work than earning this degree!) as I would be giving back to my community and knocking off student loan debt!!!

bright-from-start I am highly interested in becoming a trainer for professional development courses. I feel that submitting curriculum based on diversity and equitable education would benefit the children in Georgia childcare, preschool, and PreK settings. Promoting this type of education to those who work in the field is so important. On a level of self interest, if I could work with this agency I would gain adult education experience which would then hopefully give me the opportunity to work in a college setting sometime down the road.

boys-and-girls

I have worked with this wonderful organization in my community in the past and it is very dear to my heart. Due to me having to put so many hours into school these past couple of years I have not had the opportunity to be involved but plan to do so again very soon. I can not say enough about the people who work so hard at the local level (in the actual clubs). They make miracles happen with very limited resources. Tutoring the children in the afternoon programs or volunteering in the summer months in my opinion is something anyone who has experience with children should do even if once in a great while. Caring really does make a difference!

babies

Babies Can’t Wait is a program which I am a firm believer in and one that I actively advocate for. I personally have had children in my classrooms who have gone through this program and have seen the differences it has made. As someone with a knowledge of early childhood development I feel like I could make a difference with this company through parent education and passing on resources. Making connections with this agency could very much make a difference in the lives of children and parents who are a part of my school community.

By visiting the websites of these agencies I found that:

I will qualify to apply as a professional development teacher at Bright From the Start when I graduate from Walden -Hooray!!!!

I already qualify for being a volunteer tutor/teacher/counselor at Boys and Girls club but when I graduate I will be qualified for education coordinator positions and even corporate positions if I were interested in this type of work.

I do not qualify for Babies Can’t Wait field work as I do not have social work or therapeutic/medical experience. However, this does not mean that I can not continue to advocate for this important agency.

I feel that these three agencies are so important to the well being of the children in my community. I look forward to working with them in the future as I continue my journey in serving the children and families in Georgia and beyond!


One response to “State Agencies And Other Organizations That Appeal To Me

  1. Liz Plaskon says:

    Heather,
    I like the perspective you’ve taken here. It is wonderful you are so happy and engaged with your current position, and still able to consider working in an additional capacity. The work of Boys and Girls Clubs is an awesome choice. I love your comment that a second job couldn’t be much more work than a master’s degree. You’re spot on! -Liz

    Like

Leave a comment